IBA Tatry

Tatry – Tatras

Districts: Liptovský Mikuláš, Poprad, Tvrdošín

Altitude: 700 m – 2597 m

Area: 547,17 km2


This rangy segmented mountainous area consists of three geographical units – Západné Tatry, Vysoké Tatry and Belianske Tatry. It is characteristic for its high vertical differentiation. Two thirds of area is covered with spruce forests. Alpine meadows, rocky habitats and extensively used pastures in the foothills are prevailing in the non-forested areas.

Area protection

IBA Tatry was designated a Special Protection Area (SPA) on October 22, 2010.
Other protected areas in the region of IBA Tatry: TANAP – Tatra National Park


The territory belongs to the five most important Slovak nesting sites of Grouse, Peregrine Falcon (Falco peregrinus), Golden Eagle (Aquila chrysaetos) and forest Owl species. Extensively used foothill habitats provide feeding territories for bird of prey species.

Qualifying species

Species Breeding population Criterion
Pop.min. Pop.max.
Golden Eagle – Aquila chrysaetos 9 9 C6
Peregrine Falcon – Falco peregrinus 2 4 C6
Hazel Grouse – Bonasa bonasia 1250 1350 C6
Black Grouse – Tetrao tetrix 100 120 C6
Capercaillie – Tetrao urogallus 100 115 C6
Pygmy Owl – Glaucidium passerinum 180 220 C6
Tengmalm’s Owl – Aegolius funereus 90 130 C6

Other important species

Black Stork (Ciconia nigra), Lesser Spotted Eagle (Aquila pomarina), European Nightjar (Caprimulgus europaeus), Black Woodpecker (Dryocopus martius), Three-toed Woodpecker (Picoides tridactylus), Great Grey Shrike (Lanius excubitor)

Comments are closed.